Monday, August 10, 2015

Likes and Dislikes at World of Card Games

You have some control over who you play with at World of Card Games.

If you are a Registered Player, you can choose to play with other Registered Players only by setting your table option that way. It works like this: Click the "Options" button for the game you are interested in playing - e.g. Hearts:

the Options button
Next, check the "Registered Players Only" checkbox. (You may be less selective, and click the "Exclude New Users" checkbox, too. That way you'll be choosing to play with people who have played a few games at the site - this often keeps out the riff-raff.)

Now you will be seated with Registered Players Only
You can fine-tune your preferences at the level of individual players, too.

Suppose you've found a player whose playing style you really like. You want to be able to remember them very easily, without keeping a huge list of names. In this case, I recommend "liking" them. Click the "like" icon which appears to their right:
How to "like" a player

Liked players always appear as a star in the "list of tables":
When you hover your mouse over the star in the list, you will see the person's name. You can manage your likes by clicking on your user name - you will see a list of liked players, and the date when you "liked" them.

You can also "dislike" a player. Suppose someone has been rude to you, or you dislike the way they play. In this case, click the red/white x icon to their left:
Doing this doesn't immediately kick the player from your table. However, once you leave the table, you will never be seated with them again. They will never show up in your "list of tables", either. It is as if they do not play at the site, from your perspective.

You can manage your "disliked player" list by clicking on your user name, shown in the upper right corner of the screen - scroll down to view your list of liked players, disliked players, and players whose chats are hidden:
Manage Likes and Dislikes list
Currently, you may "like" and "dislike" up to 500 players. If you find you reach the limit, you may want to drop a few older ones off the list. In particular, if you've disliked a lot of Guests, the older ones may no longer even come to the site, and there's no point in keeping them on your list.

5 comments:

  1. I know how the "likes" and "dislikes" work. But, explain how disliking a guest works. Doesn't the guest number change? I thought that if you disliked a guest, it would only be for that day or for as long as they play on a particular day. I have started as one guest number and ended the day as another guest number. So disliking a guest wouldn't accomplish much.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Anon @ Aug 10 7:04 AM -

      Guest numbers do get recycled (otherwise the numbers would be so huge that they couldn't even be displayed).

      However, the site assigns a unique id to each player. This unique id is effectively what you are "disliking" so it works for Guests or Registered Players.

      I should point out that unless one has supernatural powers, one cannot entirely block annoying people at any website in the world. It's easy to get a fresh/fake email address, and register using that, even at sites that require registration. That's a different problem. To address that, you really do need an "opt-in" approach, where you selectively allow only certain players to play with you. This probably puts you back to using Private Tables.

      This is sort of what sites like Facebook do - people can send you a friend request, and then you can allow them to be friends with you.

      I am planning to add a feature that will allow players to more easily send "private table names" to each other. Currently you can only share private table names via chat, or using other means if you already know someone personally.

      Delete
    2. Ok, I like that idea of disliking a certain id. Now I do understand. Thank you.

      Delete
  2. I would like to be able to add a dislike/like manually. Sometimes the player leaves a table with a disparaging comment and it is too late to dislike them. Also, it would be nice to add someone to a like list after the game has ended.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Very understandable... I hope I will have the time to add these features one day!

      Delete

Comments are moderated; it may be a day or more before your comment is posted.

To use the "Name/URL" option, please allow third-party cookies in your browser. Details are at the Google product forums for blogger. Otherwise, log in, or comment as Anonymous.